AIBS Accreditation Scheme

The AIBS Accreditation Scheme (the Scheme) establishes criteria that must be met by building practitioners, such as building surveyors and building certifiers, seeking accreditation in order to practice in a particular field.

Applicants seeking accreditation, re-accreditation, or an accreditation upgrade must demonstrate that they meet the accreditation criteria required by the Scheme.

The Scheme is subject to the AIBS Code of Professional Conduct, a copy of which can be downloaded below. It also establishes a Continuing Professional Development Program (CPD Program) for persons accredited under the Scheme.

The primary objectives of the AIBS Accreditation Scheme are to specify:

  • appropriate categories of accreditation;
  • minimum qualifications a person must hold to be accredited in a particular category of accreditation;
  • minimum levels of experience a person must have to be accredited in a particular category of accreditation;
  • processes and procedures for the administration of the Scheme;
  • a Code of Professional Conduct that each accredited person must adhere to; and
  • Continuing Professional Development (CPD) requirements for re-accreditation.

For more information, including applications for accreditation, re-accreditation, and accreditation upgrades please see our page on Applying For AIBS Accreditation.

For information on the requirements for registering and/or licensing in different states please see our page on Registration and Licensing.


2019 Accreditation Fees
(Adobe PDF File)
PER Form (under development - please contact for further information)

Australian Commonwealth Statutory Declaration