Our Structure

AIBS is a Limited by Guarantee Company registered with ASIC. It is a single entity national organisation not a federation of state bodies.

It is controlled by a Board of Directors elected from the membership in each chapter. The Board consists of seven Directors, one elected from each of the six chapter, plus the Immediate Past President.  A Director is elected for a two year term, with the exception of the Immediate Past President (one year term only).  Elected Directors are eligible for re-election by the membership at the end of each two-year term.  Two Independent Directors may be appointed to the Board. 

AIBS has six chapters. They are:

  • Victoria
  • South Australia
  • Queensland/Northern Territory
  • Western Australia
  • Tasmania

Each Chapter and their elected Chapter Committee, is subject to the direction and control of the Board and to the conditions imposed by the Constitution, By-Laws and Governance Policy.

Employed and contracted staff in the AIBS Office support the work of volunteer members such as the National Board, Chapter Committees and Specialist Advisory Groups. AIBS staff also support the activities of Chapters and carry out the policies set by the Board. They report to the Chief Executive Officer who is based in the AIBS Office in Sydney.

The AIBS organisational chart is outlined below:



The AIBS Constitution
(Adobe PDF File)
The AIBS By-Laws
(Adobe PDF File)